Eating Healthy on a budget.


Providing healthy nutritious food for ourselves and our families is something that we all strive to do.  With rising food costs it can sometimes feel like an uphill battle.  With that in mind I’ve researched some healthy and low-cost foods that you can feel  proud to set on the table.

 

 1. Bananas – Bananas make the top of my list because they have always been the cheapest good for you food that I can remember. In my area I have never seen them cost more than .89 cents a pound.  They are a great source of potassium, fiber, manganese and vitamin C all of this with only 105 calories!  Whats more is that once they’ve ripened beyond what you would want to eat alone they are in an excellent stage to make Banna Bread one of my childhood favorites. Nutrition Info per serving: 121 calories, 3.5 grams fiber, 14% Daily Value for potassium (487 mg), 20% Daily Value for vitamin C.

 

2. Old Fashioned Oats –  Oatmeal is another cheap healthy food that can be used to make various dishes from breakfast to desert even pet treats!  A 42 oz container usually costs around $4 and holds 30 servings adding up to an inspiring 13 cents a meal!Nutrition info per serving: 150 calories, 4 grams fiber, and 5 grams protein.

 

3. Canned Tuna – This is one of my household staples because it is cheap, quick, will  bulk up many recipes. At less than a dollar a can you really can’t beat this for a cheap reliable source of protein and Omega 3‘s.Nutrition info per serving: About 500 milligrams of omega-3 fatty acids (0.5 gram), 60 calories, and 13 grams of protein.

 

4. Potatoes – Russet potatoes can go a long way when your on a budget and you can get a five-pound bag for $4. They are used for breakfast lunch or dinner, are very filling, and can be cooked thousands of different ways.  Nutrition info per serving (one medium-size potato): 168 calories, 3 grams fiber, 5 grams protein, 20% of the Daily Value for vitamin C, 10% Daily Value for iron, and 25% Daily Value for potassium.

 

5. Whole wheat pasta –  Most types of pastas are cheap especially spaghetti or angel hair which I buy for just under a dollar at Harris Teeter.  With one box I feed three adults with  a bit left over so you could stretch a box into two meals. I usually make a traditional italian dinner with pasta $1, ground beef $2-3, canned mushrooms .89, and alfredo sauce $3.  I’m sure it could be done cheaper but it feeds my family twice for just under $10! Nutrition info per serving: About 200 calories, 7 grams protein, and 6 grams fiber.

4 comments on “Eating Healthy on a budget.

  1. Darcy Hotard says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  2. I added a link on my post back to this post. Thanks recommending my page!

  3. […] Then there is the price of the food. On the surface, you can make an argument that shopping in the grocery store for healthy food is more expensive, especially if you are looking to by organic produce. Wrong. Check out a great visual representation comparing healthy and unhealthy options with prices that are virtually identical from the fine folks at dailyspark.com. You can also check out some low cost, healthy options courtesy of The Shanty Town. […]

  4. wartica says:

    I totally agree; oatmeal has helped , not only my skin , but also my overall energy level as well 😉 Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

Leave a comment.

