A life in plastic – new uses for old bags


 

 If your like me chances are you probably have a hidden stash of plastic grocery bags hidden under your sink or in a spare drawer.  The Wall Street Journal reported that US consumers go through over 100 billion plastic bags each year. Although many of them are recycled, the majority of these are tossed in the trash ending up in landfills, along roadsides, and in the oceans. These easily discarded carriers pose suffocation and other health threats to humans and animals alike.  In hopes of putting my dent in the growing epidemic that is plastic waste I’ve compiled a list of some easy fun recycling ideas.

 

1. Plarn- Plarn is “yarn” made from plastic bags that are cut into strips and crocheted to make any number of things I am particularly fond of baskets and rugs but you can even make sandles! The plastic creates durable stiff products with very little maintenance. (just hose them off.)

2. Plastic bags can be used as a quick replacement in the kitchen standing in for pastry frosting bags just snip the corner. I used this method recently to make filled cupcakes and it worked perfectly.

3. Packing material – instead of shelling out your hard-earned money on packing peanuts try using balled up plastic bags and newspapers to cushion your package for free.
4. Painting – Do you like the look of leather? It is easy to achieve and all you need is paint and you guessed it a plastic bag!  Heres a link to that project http://www.hgtv.com/decorating/decorative-paint-technique-leather/index.html

5. Get creative – bracelets, flowers, soccer balls. With a little imagination and some trial and error there’s no limit to the uses you can find for what would otherwise get tossed. Remember one person trash is another’s treasure!

  I am still looking for more ways to reuse the bags that will permanently keep them out of landfills and would love to hear your ideas!

11 comments on “A life in plastic – new uses for old bags

  1. Edward says:

    I truly love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you build this amazing
    site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own site and would like to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

    • Thank you for your comment and compliments. I used a free WordPress theme (I’ll have to look up the name) and then uploaded the pictures through widgets. If you have any questions setting up your site I am happy to help

  2. Darnell says:

    Fabulous, what a weblog it is! This webpage gives helpful information to us, keep it up.

  3. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. how many calories in a grapefruit half, Fantastic blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks a lot!

    • Thank you for comment! I have a couple of blogs on writing tips and tricks but I will definately put more out there after reading your comment. WordPress definately works for me. I really love it, the site is very user friendly has tons of options. So yeah if your new WordPress is great ut I see users here from all ages. Hope this helps. 🙂

  5. how many calories in a grapefruit, Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  6. Thank you for this backlink, I really appreciate it and am most grateful for your generosity.

  7. […] A life in plastic – new uses for old bags (goodnewsvabeach.wordpress.com) […]

  8. Eimear Fraid says:

    We must all suffer one of two things: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret or disappointment. Jim Rohn

Leave a comment.

