Indoor gardening


For christmas I received a wonderful present. It is a bamboo palm planted in a cute face mug.  It is pleasing to look and I was surprised to find that it is in the top rankings of plants used to clean the air. Also known as a Reed Palm it thrives in shady indoor spaces and can produce flowers and small berries. I have read that it is poisonous if ingested so I wouldn’t recommend it in homes with small children or pets.  However, I have compiled a list of plants that grow easily indoors, and are safe to have around children or pets. I really love the idea of an indoor hanging garden and would like to use the one found here http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/2E2NLZ to grow plants, flowers, or herbs for natural medicine and consumption. The link above is a page I came across that shows multiple variations of the hanging planter with different prices. I really like the florafelt panels because they are waterproof and made from recycled materials.  You could probably use the design and create a similar planter from recycled materials if you have the creativity gene.  

 

Here are a few plants I would like to see growing in my home, and some that are kid and pet friendly.

1. Spider Plant – These plants are easy to grow and thrive best in temperatures between 65 and 90 degrees F. They are known to grow about two feet high, and regularly have flowers. Spider plants have been known to cut indoor air pollution.

2. Garlic – Garlic has been used throughout history for culinary and medicinal purposes. It is closely related to the onion and is extremely easy to grow. In fact if you leave a bulb in your fridge long enough your likely to find green shoots within a few weeks.

3.  Aloe Vera – My grandma always had a couple of these growing around the house, and would break off a stem to treat minor burns and some bug bites. This is another hardy plant that is easily grown indoors.

4. Hen and chickens – This is my favorite plant out of the ones listed. They are very cute and can be grown in any soiled nook or cranny. Another one of my childhood memories, my grandma use to grow tons of these in red clay pots on the porch. They eventually produce pretty flowers.

5.  Peppermint – Peppermint grows best in moist conditions and spreads quickly. The fresh or dried plant can be used for a variety of purposes. One fun thing is to freeze fresh washed leaves in ice cubes to use in your favorite teas or mojitos. You can also dip them in melted chocolate for a sweet and healthy snack.

 

 

I would love to hear your feedback. What plants do you currently have in your home? Would you try the indoor planter? If so, what plant would you grow?

One comment on “Indoor gardening

  1. Stacey says:

    I would love to have an anthurium in my home.

Leave a comment.

